A More Successful Start To Home Workouts

Standard

Getting to the gym is sometimes seriously challenging for me. Let me step back. Getting a solid workout in is sometimes a challenge in itself. In the mornings I am running around dropping my kids off at school. Before recently I would have had to spend hours commuting to and from work along with an abundance of meetings would leave the thought of a mid-day workout unlikely. The evenings would be filled with a lot of the same commuting to and from work, schools, after school activities and sometimes we’d fit the gym and take my son to kids club for an hour if I was lucky. Sometimes the only way I could get a workout in was at home.

My first purchase was a pair of dumbbells. Eventually a stability ball because everything I read said these two things was all I needed. (This was before I became a trainer). Eventually I ended up with a light weight punching bag to get some heavy bag work in, a jump rope, barbells, free-weights, battle ropes, TRX, resistance bands, BOSU ball…should I continue? The crazy thing all of this fits into my apartment. I have plenty of space to use all of it. If I had to say one thing to everyone before you start working out at home is to create a designated space to workout.

I see people dedicate rooms to a home office, to hobbies, two rooms to eat…kitchen and dining room, a room just dedicated to sitting on your ass and watching TV, but won’t dedicate a room to being healthy or staying fit. Once you find that dedicated space, plan your equipment around your space and your goals. Don’t just buy equipment because it sounds neat or fun. Buy what you will use and what will fit your space. Spend the money on quality equipment. Cheap equipment breaks too often and then it will sit and not be used.

Think outside the box and get outside the box. Find some stairs nearby…apartments have stairwells, many houses have steps and offices do. Use them for cardio. Step into your hallway and jump rope. Go to your parking garage and do sprints up and down the ramps. Obviously keep safety in mind and do NOT endanger your life.

If you get stuck, well call me. OK well get in touch with a personal trainer. A good trainer will help you to be able to design your home or office gym, assist you with purchasing the right equipment and make recommendations, and best of all help you design a workout to fit your environment.

 

Leave a Reply

